Articulate Community Forums

Articulate Community Forums » Articulate General Discussion » General Discussion » In the classroom

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2010, 11:10 AM   # 1

Smile In the classroom

Hi guys--

I'm new to the world of e-learning and have been tasked with taking boring PPT slides currently used in the classrooms as a teaching aid and turn them into some WONDERFUL, EXCITING AND NEW. The #1 question I get from anyone taking a look at this product, " How can I used this in the classroom?" Articulate has intimidated many and puzzed others.

So, how do you use this to teach in the classroom?
Old 04-15-2010, 11:40 AM   # 2

Default Re: In the classroom

Hi and great question.

I'm seeing a lot more college programs include self-paced, rapid-courses as a means of both augmenting and replaying in-class presentations. I did some work for an automotive training school where we used rapid-elearning to present high-level theory and concepts to students who would then have more hands-on lab time with their instructors.

Arizona State is doing some good work with Articulate in their WP Carey Business School. Here's one of their public examples: 1.1

What age group are you working with?

Considering the interest around social learning, I think there are some exciting opportunities to include your students in part of your course design and creation.

Because PowerPoint is ubiquitous, students could work from your pre-designed templates and existing course modules to create their own lessons and assisgnments in PowerPoint and published through your Articulate

Collectively each student is contributing to the knowledge pool and participating in teaching back to other students.

What else can you tell us about your new role and the kinds of topics you're teaching?

Great question!
Old 04-15-2010, 12:16 PM   # 3

Great question and something I've been actively involved in prior to joining the corporate "dark side". Good points David.